Back on track | And a fruity treat 365evermore style!

So, we are 12 days into 2016 and I have been utterly busy ever since mid December and until today basically. After a very relaxing Christmas (plenty of lovely gifts, will show you some later on!) and a tremendous New Years Eve I all of a sudden realised that I wanted to re-write my Psychology essay, so yeah, that is what have been occupying me since the start of this year. Perhaps not the best thing in the world to think of the first day of the year but I must admit the final result of my essay was so much better than the first draft. Fingers crossed my tutor and marker will think so too!

Anyway, due to being busy writing away I have only had time to keep up my training routine (been lifting some rather heavy weights in the gym which I currently love doing!) but all the hours sat still writing has also made me skip a cooked lunch a few times and instead indulged in a bowl of yummy fruit! I wanted to show you all since I personally think it is a fantastic thing to do to boost your body with some fabulous vitamins and nutrition. You have to excuse the rather dull colours in these pictures but the weather is horrendously grey and dark which makes it (at least for me and my newbie photograph skills) impossible to take any bright and lovely photos! Hopefully you will enjoy this despite the lack of daylight.Version 2

I start by adding 1 banana (130 gram) and one kiwi (20 gram), this alone looks so yummy that I could eat it at once but since this actually were my lunch today I needed a few more fruits and berries to add up the calorie count. Please do note that this ‘fruity treat’ is a rather ‘hefty’ meal so if you are like me and on a specific calorie amount per day, you need to make sure that you have about 300 calories to spare on top of the meals that you need/would like to eat during the day. As I mentioned before, when I have a ‘resting day’ I tend to remove a cooked (or more heavy) lunch and eat something light such as this ‘fruity treat’ or a simple soup. But I am not a dietician or a health care professional, so whatever works for me may not work at all for you and I cannot stress enough the importance of getting to know your own body and its needs. And if you have special requirements please do consult with your general practitioner.

Version 2

Secondly, I usually add some blueberries (40 gram) because they are awesome for body and mind (follow this link to a previous post about blueberries). I weigh all my food, all the time – I know that some people do not want to do that because they are scared of becoming obsessive and that is a-ok. You need to do what works for you, that is the most important thing. However, since I am on a weight-loss journey and also need to control my food intake to a tee due to my malfunctioning thyroid it is vital for me to be in control of what I eat and how many calories (and vitamins, minerals, nutrition etc) it contains. Simple as that really!

Version 2Lastly I add one orange (200 gram) because it makes it juicy and lovely and this time of the year is perfect for indulging in oranges since they are sold in abundance in the shops. Unless you cannot stand the white part (the pith) of the orange, then do leave it on since it actually contains the same amount of c-vitamins as the flesh itself but perhaps more importantly also contains pectin. Pectin is a soluble dietary fiber carrying the potential to lower serum cholesterol and act as an immune system stimulant among many other things. I am a bit of an ‘odd ball’ and actually love the pith, I always used to ask my parents for theirs when I was a child. So yeah, do keep it on if you do not mind it – it should definitely not be considered waste anyway!

Version 2

This is basically it, I sometimes add a bit of organic mild natural yoghurt, usually full fat because I do not eat much milk products. I am allergic to almonds so I cannot eat any products based on that, but if you can I am sure you can use some almond milk (yoghurt if that even exists) or quark if you prefer that. Anyway, this is my ‘fruity treat’ according to 365evermore! This lovely bowl of goodies ended up on 278 calories, included in that calculation is 20 gram (a bit more than one table spoon) of organic natural yoghurt. Yum!

Leave a Reply

