Enjoying the weather and changing focus!

Truly beautiful weather today and I have enjoyed it to the max! Started the day with a morning walk in moderate pace, enjoying the views, wildlife (I am obsessed with birds in case you did not know already) and gently waking up my mind, body and metabolism. Well, the latter a bit more questionable but one can hope right? More about this later on in this post, anyway, the weather you guys – stunning, simply stunning! Not much of a December feel to it, but the leftover cold from the night still managed to squeeze out -2 degrees at 10am and add to that perfectly clear air, I simply could not ask for more!

Version 2Version 2Version 2Version 2

Today I walked outside the Botanical Gardens and you see these cute signs making pedestrians but perhaps more important cyclists aware of the toads that every year risk their lives crossing the walk and cycle path to reach the breeding grounds. At some point I will record the toads ‘singing’ for you during the mating season, it is heartwarmingly beautiful! Perhaps not for everyone but then again, I am a wildlife nutter and easily impressed by things like that. Version 2Version 2

Despite enjoying the weather and the walk, I must admit that I have had a bit of a rough patch as of late. I saw my medical doctor the last week and found out that my thyroid levels were worse (which explains the horrible headache and “sore/tired” eyes) despite medication so I have now had to up my dosage hoping it will kick it back into the right gear. Admittedly it is a bit of a downer to struggle with under-function in my thyroid while at the same time trying to achieve a weight loss. Let us just say that it is more or less an impossible equation unfortunately.

Version 2

However, I prefer to view things on the positive side (I also have fantastic support from my boyfriend and family) and have therefore decided to forget about the weight loss journey for a bit and instead put all my focus and effort into increasing my fitness levels. It may sound a bit odd since one naturally leads to another, but not necessarily in my case due to my metabolism being more or less non existent. To give you an example, at this point due to my screwed up thyroid and metabolism, I would have to stay below 600 calories a day to achieve a weight loss and that would still be heavily dependant on me being quite active (hikes, gym, running etc). So no, I am removing myself from ‘hitting that very agonising and stressful wall’ again and again and instead shifting focus to fitness, cardio and muscle building. The idea is to keep my heart happy by keeping at the cardio (hikes, jogging, rowing) and build a strong muscle frame that eventually, when the medication dosage hit the right levels, will help my body to burn through the excessive weight in a heartbeat. That is my plan anyway, I refuse to give up and ‘wait it out’ because hitting the right dosage can take up to a year and I simply do not have that kind of time on my hands. Keep your fingers crossed for me pretty please, I have a feeling I might need it! ♡

Leave a Reply

