Trekking poles and its benefits.

Last weekend I purchased some awesome trekking poles (Alpine FLZ) from Black Diamond Equipment and I absolutely love them. I have been thinking for a long time that a pair of trekking poles would be a great addition to my morning walks and hikes in the forest. I mean, why not engage the arms and shoulders a bit more while out walking? Personally I think it is a fantastic idea to try to activate as many muscle groups as possible and as such get a better workout. Version 2

However, I can admit that I probably never would have purchased these if it was not for the huge amount of walkers/hikers that roam around the area (a huge national park) where I currently live. For some reason I have previously affiliated the usage of trekking poles to the older generation, I could not have been more wrong! The benefits of trekking poles are fantastic, not only the increased pace (balance and stability ) due to getting into a better flow in a much similar way to a ‘military march’ since the poles force you to engage the arms properly. Another, and by me, much appreciated side effect is that I no longer get ‘swollen fingers’ as my hands and fingers constantly are gripping the handles and arms are swinging thus increasing the blood circulation all the way out to the finger tips. I don’t know about you guys, but it is simply lovely to be able to finish a walk on a sun beaming day and still have ‘normal sized’ fingers! All in all, I could not be happier with my new trekking poles, it certainly made my walks so much more fun and efficient and it is safe to say that I now am hooked!Version 2

At the moment I am in a somewhat of fanatical shopping mode, but I think it is due to my previous training break and it is a lovely way to start anew by investing in some new gear and helpful things. Thus, now that I can check off trekking poles from my ‘to buy list’ I have shifted focus and am now ogling various small rucksacks as I am in the need of a rather tiny one for my longer walks. I would love to be able to go out on walks without a rucksack but it is not possible as I need to bring allergy and asthma medication and a few other bits and bobs. My current rucksack, Jack Wolfskin (snuggle up) only have room for one water bottle which bothers me tremendously as this creates an uneven weight over the shoulders. It is perfectly fine for shorter walks or day to day activities, but not when you are out walking for a couple of hours or longer and carry a tad bit more in the backpack. So that is why I am on the prowl for a new one, and boy do I love shopping for items that will help me on my weight-loss journey!

Leave a Reply

