Sunday Summary.

This is my first Sunday Summary in a wee while so it is rather exciting to be able to look ahead as well as look back at what I have been up to lately. First things first – I did manage to reach my goal of walking a total of 80 km in the month of May even though the last three days were a bit stressful. But it is done now and it is a great feeling to know that I so far have been able to keep my monthly goals. I believe that starting out this getting back into shape and being more active with plenty of walks has been one of the better ideas since it is a truly lean way to do exercise and possible to keep up no matter where in the world I might be.

maycompgoal

However, lately I have been thinking about my past two months of easing my way back into a more active lifestyle and I genuinely feel like it is time to step it up a little! Thus I have decided to start jogging two times per week which I think will be quite challenging but at the same time extremely motivating since it is something I have been looking forward to for so long now. Those of you that follow my blog may have noticed that I have already done two sneaky jogging sessions to sort of “try it out” and it has been going very good so far. To keep track of my jogging and to boost up my motivation to get it done I have set a RunKeeper goal for my jogging to finish a total of 20 km before the end of June which I think should be doable. At the moment I am able to jog a bit over 3 km each time and if I can keep it up 2 times per week I should be fine.

junergoal

I have also set a new walking goal of finishing a total of 80 km by the end of June, I hope that I will have exceeded that amount of kilometres by then but it is an absolute minimum of walking even though I am going to do some jogging as well. But it is important to me to keep on walking since it will not only help me to boost my cardio fitness but also assist my body to rejuvenate between my jogging days by getting the blood circulation going. If there is anything I did learn from training with a PT (will write more about this some other day) then it was about staying active and in particular those days when I feel stiff and not at all in the mood, it will make all the difference! But it is not only because I want to help out my body that I want to keep on doing my walks, it is also because I have truly grown to love and appreciate these walks of mine, they are my alone time and an hour a day when I am left to think and plan my day without any interruptions. ‘Tis lovely!

junewgoal

Additional to this I am planning (thought of this today) to buy a monthly card at the student gym in town because it will allow me to do some more weight training (machines, I know that some trainers don’t approve of these but I quite like them and think they are a great supplement when you do training that isn’t supervised by a PT or any other trainer) and hopefully some rowing, elliptical machines and my greatest love of them all – treadmills! The only problem is that I’m not sure whether or not it’s possible to buy a membership for only a month and if not then it won’t work. Keep your fingers crossed!

☁ ☁ ☁ 

June will be challenging though, not only because I am asking my body to accept this new training routine “jogging” but also since I am battling a rather difficult pollen war at the moment (I have felt pretty under the weather for a while now and since we basically live in a national park there is plenty of grass and other plants to react to) which some days unfortunately makes it more or less impossible for me to even be outdoors. I am definitely the most boring summer-person you could ever think of as I only wish for rainrain and then a bit more rain to flush all the pollen away. So, if I am blessed with some rain every now and then this new training schedule and goals of June should be doable but if the weather decides to be truly mean to me I may fail epically which of course will be a downer but not the end of the world. And of course this is also where a gym will come pretty handy, being able to train indoors will make all the difference. All in all, the month of June is going to be exciting and I am thrilled to get going!

Leave a Reply

